FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
VOTER REGISTRATION

Who and Where is the Election Commissioner located?
Rebecca “Becky” Rossell
301 N. Jeffers Rm 101
North Platte NE 69101
1-308-534-4350 Ext 4110

How many election precincts are in Lincoln County?
14 Within the city limits of North Platte
10 Rural precincts
24 Total

VOTER REGISTRATION

Do | have to be registered to vote?
% Yes, voter registration is required in Nebraska to be eligible to vote.
% The only exception is at a Presidential election for persons who have recently moved to
Nebraska, or moved to another state after that state’s registration deadline. They may

vote a Presidential only ballot by contacting the county election official.
What determines my eligibility to vote?

To register to vote in Nebraska you must:

% Be a United States Citizen;

» Be at least 18 years of age on or before the first Tuesday after the first Monday in
November;

% Live in the State of Nebraska;

% Have not been convicted of a felony, or if convicted, at least two (2) years have passed
since the completion of your sentence for the felony including any parole term;

% Have not been officially found to be mentally incompetent.
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Do | have to be aresident for a certain amount of time to register?
% No, you may register to vote the same day you become a resident of the State of
Nebraska.

How is residence determined?
% By law, your residence is that place at which you have established a home, where you
are habitually present, and to which, when you depart, you intend to return.

% Leaving for temporary purposes, such as military service, school attendance, hospital
stays, or missions work need not result in a change of residence for voting purposes.

% However, any permanent change in your residence or address will require you to re-
register to vote.



How do | register to vote?
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When

You may register in person at the local County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office
during normal business hours.

Register ONLINE. www.ne.gov/go/NEreg2vote

You may also register by mail. A voter registration application can be printed off at
www.sos.ne.gov/elec/ele forms.html ;

If registering for the first time in Nebraska by mail, please provide a copy of a current
and valid photo ID, or a copy of a utility bill, bank statement, government check,
paycheck or other government document which is dated within 60 days immediately
prior to the date of presentation showing the same name and residence address
provided on the voter registration application to avoid delays with your registration.

In addition, you may register to vote through the state Department of Motor Vehicles
when applying for or renewing your driver’s license or at various other state agencies.
You may also register through the state Department of Health and Human Services and
State Department of Education at the time of application, review or change of address in
connection with public programs.

You must sign your Voter Registration Application before it is returned to your County
Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office.

is the registration deadline?

Mail-In voter registrations must be mailed and postmarked on or before the third Friday
preceding an election.

Voter registrations delivered by personal messenger or personal agent must arrive on or
before the third Friday preceding an election

Individuals may register in person at the County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office
prior to 6:00 P.M. on the second Friday preceding an election.

Must | designate a party affiliation?
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No, voters may choose from one of the four statewide parties currently recognized in
Nebraska: Democratic, Republican, Libertarian Legal Marijuana NOW or they may
choose to not affiliate with any party by checking the non-partisan box on the
application.

If you wish to vote in the primary election, where parties choose their nominees for state
and county offices, you need to declare your party affiliation.

If you register without a political party affiliation, you will receive only the non-partisan
ballots at a primary election.

Non-partisans may designate a party preference at primary elections and request
partisan ballots for the Senate and House Congressional races.

(In addition, this year the Nebraska Democratic, Libertarian & Legal Marijjuana NOW
parties have opened their primary election per Nebraska State Statute §32-912(2) to
allow nonpartisan voters to vote in any race where their party is nominating a candidate
for partisan office.)

Party designation has no bearing when voting a non-partisan ballot or in the general
election.


http://www.ne.gov/go/NEreg2vote
http://www.sos.ne.gov/elec/ele_forms.html

Are there situations where | would need to re-register?

You must re-register whenever you change:
< Your name,
% Your address, or
% Your political party affiliation.
% Failure to vote in a previous election does not require re-registration

Will I receive notice that my mail-in/fonline registration has been accepted and

processed?

% Yes, if you completed the form correctly and mailed it by the deadline (third Friday prior
to the election), you will receive an acknowledgement from the election official that you
are properly registered.

% If you are a first time registrant in Nebraska using the mail in application and did not
provide copies of the ID requirements for 15t time mail in registrants, you will be notified
of the need to do so.

% If you have questions on your registration, call you County Clerk/Election Commissioner
at 1-308-534-4350 Ext 4110.
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Who? Any Nebraska resident that is a U.S. citizen who will be 18 years of age on or
before the November General Election Day is eligible to vote in that calendar
year.

How? Complete a Nebraska Voter Registration Application, providing the complete

name, address, date of birth, party affiliation, valid Nebraska drivers license?*,
and affirmation of oath by their signature.

Where? Obtain the form at the election office, Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office
or online at the Nebraska Secretary of State’s website, DMV offices or Health
and Human Services offices.

Mail In? Yes, the form can be completed in person at the Election Office or mailed in as
all the county elections offices in the State are listed on the back of the
application.

When? Persons wishing to vote in an election must be registered 10 days before the

Election. In person registrations cease the 2" Friday** preceding and Election
Mail-In registrations *** must be postmarked the 3" Friday preceding the

Election.
* If the person doesn’t have a valid Nebraska driver’s license
they may provide the last 4 digits of the Soc Sec #.
*x In the case of a holiday, the deadline goes to the following

Monday



rrk First time registrants in the county must provide a copy of
their ID prior to voting in order to not vote Provisional at the
polls.
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FILING AS A CANDIDATE

To file as a candidate you must file with the election commissioner’s office.

% Filing fees for a county office are paid to the Election Commissioner.

% Filing fees for a city office are paid to the City Clerk, receipt must be provided to the
Election Commissioner with filing.

% If the office you are filing for requires a statement of financial interest to be filed with the
Accountability and Disclosure Commission your filing is not complete until this office
receives a copy.

Is there a filing deadline?

< Yes: Primary Election is February 15" for an incumbent and March 15 for non
incumbent.

< General Election is July 15" for an incumbent and August 15t for non incumbent

What is an incumbent?
One who holds any elective office

EARLY VOTING IN NEBRASKA (Formerly Absentee Voting)
Who may apply for an Early Voting ballot? (SOS)

Anyone may apply for an Early Voting ballot, such as:

% Persons not able to go to the polls due to their work or vacation schedule, or
Persons not able to go to the polls due to a medical condition or hospitalization, or
Persons temporarily out of the county, state or country
Persons not wishing to travel to the polls
Persons not wishing to leave their homes
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Do | need to give the reason why | am voting early when applying for Early Voting
ballots? (SOS)
“ No, since 1999 Nebraska law has not required a person disclose a reason for their
request on the Early Voting application.

How do | apply for and vote an Early Voting ballot? (SOS)
¢ You can apply for an early voting ballot by contacting your County Clerk/Election
Commissioner in person at the election office, by personal agent, by mail or by fax.

What is an agent?
An agent is someone whom you have sign the request form and pick up your ballots for
you. An individual can only act as the agent for two voters per election.

How do | apply by mail? (SOS)
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Print the on-line form at Complete the form; then mail or
fax it to your County Clerk or Election Commissioner.

Write to your County Clerk or Election Commissioner, including:

Your name and residence address

Your political party affiliation

Your voting precinct, if known,

Your telephone number

The mailing address you want the ballots sent to, and

Your signature.

NEW — Voter ID (2024)
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Is there a process to assist military and overseas citizens in obtaining Early Voting
ballots? (SOS)
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Yes, Nebraska participates in the Federal Voting Assistance Program for our military
personnel and overseas citizens. You may go to the following website for further
information:

When may | apply for an Early Voting ballot? (SOS)

All county election offices will accept Early Voting applications up to 120 days prior to a
statewide Primary or General election.

35 days before the Election is the first day early voting ballots are available to vote at
the County Office. Contact your County Clerk/Election Commissioner for information on
office hours.

35 days before the Election is also the first day ballots are sent to non-military stateside
applications.

Should your ballots not arrive, contact your County Clerk/Election Commissioner to
confirm the date and address the ballots were mailed out.

Make arrangements with the County Clerk to receive a replacement ballot if it is
determined your ballots were lost, destroyed, spoiled or never received.

The last day to request an Early Voting ballot to be mailed is the 2nd Friday preceding
the election at the close of business 6:00 P.M.

The Monday before Election Day is the last day to cast an early voting ballot at the
County Election Office.

ELECTION DAY

Where do | vote:
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Each voter must cast his/her ballot at his/her assigned polling place. If you do not know
the location of your polling place, contact your county clerk/election commissioner or go
to: https://www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov/ .

Whenever you register or reregister to vote, your county clerk/election commissioner will
inform you of your polling place location. Your voting card informs you not only of your
polling place, but also your voting districts.

What time will the polls open? (SOS)
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The polls are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the Central Time Zone and from 7 a.m. to 7
p.m. in the Mountain Time Zone

Do | need a voting card or my ID in order to vote? (SOS)


https://www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov/

% No, the card is for information only and does not need to be presented to election
officials in order to vote

% The only time voters are asked for their ID is if they were a first time Nebraska registrant
who mailed in their registration application and didn’t provide ID at the time.

Am | able to vote if | did not re-register? (SOS)

% Registered voters who moved from one residence to another in the same county, or
who changed their name and remained in the same county will be allowed to vote at the
polling place designated for their new residence. These voters may be asked to cast a
Provisional Ballot upon completing a certification and new registration form.

Persons casting Provisional ballots may check to see if their ballot was counted starting
the second Wednesday after the election by visiting:
https://www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov/ or calling toll free 1-888-727-0007.

Persons moving from one county in Nebraska to another county in Nebraska must re-
register in their new county in order to be eligible to vote.

How does a person vote? (SOS)

Registered voters go to their assigned polling place where there will be three or more
poll workers at a table checking voters in. Voters will be asked for their name and the
residence address they are living at. In primary elections voters will also be asked to
name their party. Upon verifying the information, the election workers will provide the
voter with ballots assigned to persons living in their district and instructions on how to
cast a ballot.

In Nebraska all counties use optical scan ballots; so voters are instructed to darken the
oval completely, not to erase or cross out and return to the table if they have spoiled
their ballot and need a new one. Ballots are centrally counted using a M650 that can
count over 300 ballots a minute.
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Where? Upon receipt of the completed voter registration application form, the
registered voter will receive an acknowledgement from the county election
official, advising them that the registration has been processed and
where their polling place is located.

Notices are published in the paper listing polling place locations. Polling
places are often listed on the county’s website.

When? Notices are printed in the paper, on the Secretary of State website, on the
county election official website regarding when Election Day is and what
hours the polls are open. Polls are open — 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CT or
7:00 am to 7:00 p.m. MT

Who/What? To obtain information on who to vote for or how to vote on an issue, obtain
information from media (print, radio or television) the web, the candidates,


https://www.votercheck.necvr.ne.gov/

the parties, the committees.
Become informed and develop your opinion.

Voters may bring notes or marked sample ballots to the polls but may not
leave them there.

How? Go to your polling location between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CT

Wait in line; when reaching the Receiving Board table, give the person
behind the table your full name (as registered) and the address you are
registered at. The poll worker will confirm your name, address and party
affiliation.

You will be asked to sign in as your written signature is required in the
poll book.

The poll workers will verify on their computer list which issues and
candidates you are allowed to vote on based on your residence, i.e. city
councilman, school board member, etc. You will be given the appropriate
ballots based on your party affiliation or non-affiliation with the instructions
to darken the oval completely and vote both sides, if necessary.

Proceed to the booth where you mark your ballot in the privacy of the
booth, or you may use the AutoMARK, or you may use an open table if
available.

Return to the Receiving Board table from the booth with the ballot(s)
inside the ballot sleeve so the poll workers’ initials show at the bottom of
the sleeve.

The poll worker will assist you in placing your ballot in the ballot box if
necessary or if you spoiled the ballot and wish to be issued a new ballot
the poll worker will see that you receive one.

Poll workers may not answer questions on who or what to vote for.
Upon casting your ballot you may leave.

What are “overvotes” and “undervotes”?
Be sure to read the ballot closely. Some races are a vote for one. Some
races allow you to vote for multiple persons. If you vote for more persons
than specified in the portion of the ballot, it is considered an “overvote”
and none of the votes in that portion are counted.

“Undervotes” occur when you mark less candidates in a race than the
number listed in the “Vote for” statement. Undervoting a race where more
than one candidate is voted for does not disqualify the vote(s) cast.



How do you vote for a write-in candidate?
To vote for a write-in candidate, that person must be filed as a Write-In
Candidate. If you wish to cast a vote for a “write-In” candidate, be sure to
darken the oval to the left of the line where you have written in the
candidate’s name.

Provisional Voting

Provisional voting occurs when someone is not properly registered, when
the voter’'s name does not appear on the Precinct Voter Registration list, or when a first-time
mail in registrant has not provided ID.

The Provisional Voter is given a new registration form to complete.

The Provisional Voter is given the ballots for their residence.

The Provisional Voter places their ballots in an envelope prior to casting
them in a ballot box.

The Provisional Voter completes a form choosing a PIN number so they
may contact an 800 number or the SOS website to check if their
ballots were included in the counting process. Election Officials
verify the information the Provisional voter has provided prior to
including their ballots for counting.

Election Day Don’t(s)

Do NOT engage the poll workers in political conversation.

Do NOT leave printed information in the voting booth.

Do NOT wear Candidate or Committee attire to your polling location.

Do NOT park your car within 200’ of polling location if you have “Vote
for ” bumper stickers on your car.

Do NOT try to influence other voters entering the polling place to vote
your opinion.



